House Judiciary Committee Approves Radio Performance Fee

        Radio on FacebookJoin us on Facebook

Washington, DC - May 13, 2009 - The House Judiciary Committee passed H.R. 848, the Performance Rights Act, by a vote of 21 to 9. This bill will remove the exemption from paying a copyright performance fee on music that terrestrial radio stations currently enjoy.

Voting against the bill were House Judiciary Committee Members Maxine Waters (CA), Lamar Smith (TX), Howard Coble (NC), Dan Lungren (CA), Louie Gohmert (TX), Jim Jordan (OH), Ted Poe (TX), Jason Chaffetz (UT) and Gregg Harper (MS).

The NAB has been pushing opposing legislation. A bipartisan group of 192 House lawmakers already support the Local Radio Freedom Act. The Local Radio Freedom Act (H. Con. Res. 49) was introduced by Reps. Gene Green (TX) and Mike Conaway (TX). In March, an identical resolution was introduced in the Senate (S. Con. Res. 14) by Sens. Blanche Lincoln (AR) and John Barrasso (WY).

The bill passed by the House Judiciary Committee will be passed to the House for its next action.

Acceptable Use Policy
blog comments powered by Disqus

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Today in Radio History

Milestones From Radio's Past

The history of radio broadcasting extends beyond the work of a few famous inventors.

EAS Information More on EAS

NWS XML/Atom Feed for CAP Messages

The feed provides feeds for all US states and territories.

Wallpaper Calendar

Radio 2014 Calendar Wallpaper

Need a calendar for your computer desktop? Use one of ours.

The Wire

A virtual press conference

Information from manufacturers and associations about industry news, products, technology and business announcements.

Join Us Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn
Radio magazine cover

Current Issue

National Public Radio

Building For The Future

Browse Back Issues

[an error occurred while processing this directive]