2009 NAB Marconi Radio Awards Finalists Announced

        Radio on FacebookJoin us on Facebook
Marconi award logo

Washington, DC - Jul 20, 2009 - The NAB announced the finalists for the NAB Marconi Radio Awards honoring radio stations and on-air personalities for excellence in broadcasting. The winners will be announced on Sept. 24 at the NAB Marconi Radio Awards Dinner and Show held during the NAB Radio Show at the Pennsylvania Convention Center.

The finalists are:

Legendary Station

  • KKOB-AM Albuquerque, NM
  • KQRS-FM Minneapolis, MN
  • WGY-AM Albany, NY
  • WMJX-FM Boston, MA
  • WSBT-AM South Bend, IN

    Network Syndicated Personality of the Year

  • Michael Baisden, Citadel Media
  • Bob and Tom, Premiere Radio Networks
  • Steve Harvey, Premiere Radio Networks
  • Rush Limbaugh, Premiere Radio Networks
  • Dave Ramsey, Lampo Group

    Major Market Station of the Year

  • KLVE-FM Los Angeles, CA
  • KOIT-FM San Francisco, CA
  • WBEB-FM Philadelphia, PA
  • WEEI-AM Boston, MA
  • WMMR-FM Philadelphia, PA

    Large Market Station of the Year

  • KALC-FM Denver, CO
  • KATZ-FM St. Louis, MO
  • KIRO-FM Seattle, WA
  • KYGO-FM Denver, CO
  • WIBC-FM Indianapolis, IN

    Medium Market Station of the Year

  • KPEL-FM Lafayette, LA
  • KTTS-FM Springfield, MO
  • KUAD-FM Windsor, CO
  • WHO-AM Des Moines, IA
  • WJMZ-FM Greenville, SC

    Small Market Station of the Year

  • KBHP-FM Bemidji, MN
  • KFGO-AM Fargo, ND
  • KTLO-FM Mountain Home, AR
  • WJBC-AM Bloomington, IL
  • WLEN-FM Adrian, MI

    Major Market Personality of the Year

  • Patrick Ellis, WHUR-FM Washington, DC
  • Funkmaster Flex, WQHT-FM New York, NY
  • Preston and Steve, WMMR-FM Philadelphia, PA
  • Matt Siegel, WXKS-FM Boston, MA
  • JoJo Wright, KIIS-FM Los Angeles, CA

    Large Market Personality of the Year

  • Bill Cunningham, WLW-AM Cincinnati, OH
  • Jim Denny, Deborah Honeycutt and Kevin Freeman, WFMS-FM Indianapolis, IN
  • Johnjay and Rich, KZZP-FM Phoenix, AZ
  • Terri Stacy, WIBC-FM Indianapolis, IN
  • Mike Trivisonno, WTAM-AM Cleveland, OH

    Medium Market Personality of the Year

  • John "B-Man" Beaulieu, WTUE-FM Dayton, OH
  • Brian Gary and Todd Harding, KUAD-FM Windsor, CO
  • Catey Hill, WJBR-FM Wilmington, DE
  • Jon Justice, KQTH-FM Tucson, AZ
  • Van and Bonnie, WHO-AM Des Moines, IA

    Small Market Personality of the Year

  • Joel Heitkamp, KFGO-AM Fargo, ND
  • Brian Lee, KZOQ-FM Missoula, MT
  • Bob Murray, WTAX-AM Springfield, IL
  • Lacy Neff, WVAQ-FM Morgantown, WV
  • Will Payne and Barry Diamond, KITX-FM Hugo, OK

    Spanish Format Personality of the Year

  • Alberto Alegre, KSAH-AM San Antonio, TX
  • Raul Brindis, KLTN-FM Houston, TX
  • Amalia Gonzalez, KRCD-FM, Los Angeles, CA
  • Hijos De La Manana, KTTA-FM Sacramento, CA
  • Omar and Argelia, KLVE-FM Los Angeles, CA

    AC Station of the Year

  • KSFI-FM Salt Lake City, UT
  • KSTP-FM Minneapolis, MN
  • WBEB-FM Philadelphia, PA
  • WJYE-FM Buffalo, NY
  • WNSN-FM South Bend, IN

    CHR Station of the Year

  • KDWB-FM Minneapolis, MN
  • KIIS-FM Los Angeles, CA
  • KPWR-FM Los Angeles, CA
  • WKST-FM Pittsburgh, PA
  • WVAQ-FM Morgantown, WV

    Country Station of the Year

  • KITX-FM Hugo, OK
  • KYGO-FM Denver, CO
  • KZKX-FM Lincoln, NE
  • WKDQ-FM Evansville, IN
  • WUBE-FM Cincinnati, OH

    News/Talk Station of the Year

  • KGO-AM San Francisco, CA
  • KIRO-FM Seattle, WA
  • KLBJ-AM Austin, TX
  • KOA-AM Denver, CO
  • WGN-AM Chicago, IL

    Oldies Station of the Year

  • KLOU-FM St. Louis, MO
  • WBHF-AM Cartersville, GA
  • WMXJ-FM Miami, FL
  • WODZ-FM Marcy, NY
  • WWSW-FM Pittsburgh, PA

    Religious Station of the Year

  • KFSH-FM Los Angeles, CA
  • KKLA-FM Los Angeles, CA
  • KLRC-FM Siloam Springs, AR
  • KLTY-FM Dallas, TX
  • WFMV-FM Columbia, SC

    Rock Station of the Year

  • KLAQ-FM El Paso, TX
  • KQRS-FM Minneapolis, MN
  • WDVE-FM Pittsburgh, PA
  • WPLR-FM Milford, CT
  • WSFL-FM New Bern, NC

    Spanish Station of the Year

  • KBDR-FM Laredo, TX
  • KINT-FM El Paso, TX
  • KLNZ-FM Phoenix, AZ
  • KLVE-FM Los Angeles, CA
  • KRCD-FM, Los Angeles, CA

    Sports Station of the Year

  • KBUN-AM Bemidji, MN
  • KNML-AM Albuquerque, NM
  • KPEL-AM Lafayette, LA
  • KWEB-AM Rochester, MN
  • WGR-AM Buffalo, NY

    Urban Station of the Year

  • KATZ-FM St. Louis, MO
  • KBLX-FM San Francisco, CA
  • KDHT-FM Austin, TX
  • KMJM-FM St. Louis, MO
  • WJMZ-FM Greenville, SC

    The NAB Marconi Radio Awards were established in 1989 and named after inventor and Nobel Prize winner Guglielmo Marconi.

  • Acceptable Use Policy
    blog comments powered by Disqus

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]

    Today in Radio History

    Milestones From Radio's Past

    The history of radio broadcasting extends beyond the work of a few famous inventors.

    EAS Information More on EAS

    NWS XML/Atom Feed for CAP Messages

    The feed provides feeds for all US states and territories.

    Wallpaper Calendar

    Radio 2014 Calendar Wallpaper

    Need a calendar for your computer desktop? Use one of ours.

    The Wire

    A virtual press conference

    Information from manufacturers and associations about industry news, products, technology and business announcements.

    Join Us Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn
    Radio magazine cover

    Current Issue

    National Public Radio

    Building For The Future

    Browse Back Issues

    [an error occurred while processing this directive]