NAB Accepting 2007 Engineering Achievement Award Nominations

        Radio on FacebookJoin us on Facebook

Washington - Dec 20, 2006 - Each year since 1959, the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) has presented the Engineering Achievement Award to an individual for his outstanding accomplishments in the broadcast industry. In 1991, the association began giving two awards--one for achievements in radio and the other for TV. Award recipients will be recognized at the NAB2007 Technology Luncheon in Las Vegas.

Candidates for the Radio and Television Engineering Achievement Awards must be or have been an owner, officer or employee of any company, subsidiary or division whose primary business is broadcasting, or is directly in support of broadcasting, including employees of the federal government directly engaged in broadcast engineering work. The size of the organization with which each candidate is affiliated is not a determining factor. The merits of the contributions to broadcast engineering are the sole factors to be taken into account.

The candidates for the two Engineering Achievement Awards shall be recognized on the basis of a single significant contribution or contributions made over a period of time that, taken together, have significantly advanced the state of the art of broadcast engineering. The candidates for the awards shall have made contributions in the following categories:

  • Inventions
  • Development of new techniques
  • Dissemination of technical knowledge and literature
  • Leadership in broadcast engineering affairs
  • An outstanding contribution which, in the opinion of the NAB Executive Committee, warrants consideration

The period of time encompassed by the engineering contributions of the candidates for the awards should be reasonable. The award winners will be selected by the NAB Executive Committee. The committee will emphasize the more recent achievements of the nominees. Submit the completed nomination form and letters of recommendations to the NAB by Jan. 19, 2007. Access the form at this link.

Past award recipients include John Battison, Geoff Mendenhall, Bob Orban, Glynn Walden and Milford Smith.

Acceptable Use Policy
blog comments powered by Disqus

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Today in Radio History

Milestones From Radio's Past

The history of radio broadcasting extends beyond the work of a few famous inventors.

EAS Information More on EAS

NWS XML/Atom Feed for CAP Messages

The feed provides feeds for all US states and territories.

Wallpaper Calendar

Radio 2014 Calendar Wallpaper

Need a calendar for your computer desktop? Use one of ours.

The Wire

A virtual press conference

Information from manufacturers and associations about industry news, products, technology and business announcements.

Join Us Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn
Radio magazine cover

Current Issue

National Public Radio

Building For The Future

Browse Back Issues

[an error occurred while processing this directive]