Dan Mason to Receive 2012 NAB National Radio Award

        Radio on FacebookJoin us on Facebook
Dan Mason

Washington and New York - Jun 4, 2012 - Dan Mason, president and CEO of CBS Radio, will receive the National Radio Award during the 2012 Radio Show Luncheon on Sept. 21, 2012. The Radio Show is jointly produced by the National Association of Broadcasters and the Radio Advertising Bureau.

Mason began his radio career in 1975 at WZGC-FM in Atlanta. In 1977, he moved to Washington, DC, where he was WPGC-FM's program director and national program director for the station's parent company, First Media. In 1979, at age 27, KTSA/KTFM San Antonio named him vice president/general manager. Mason later returned to First Media and became president when the company became Cook Inlet Radio Partners. In 1993, Mason joined Westinghouse as president of Group W Radio, which later merged with CBS. Mason acted as CBS Radio President from 1995-2002. He returned full time in2007 after serving as a consultant to CBS and other domestic and international radio broadcasting companies.

As president and CEO, Mason oversees all operations for CBS Radio's 130 stations. His aggressive growth strategy includes diversifying the division's portfolio with station formats that cater to different age groups and demographics. Under Mason's leadership, top 40 station launches in New York, Los Angeles, San Francisco, Detroit, Houston and Phoenix outperform previous lineups. CBS Radio's debut of sports programming on FM stations in Philadelphia; Boston; Detroit; Washington, DC; Dallas; Baltimore; Pittsburgh and Cleveland has demonstrated success as a business model. Mason also increased CBS Radio's digital presence with an extensive online streaming platform and mobile applications.

A native of Louisville, KY, Mason graduated from Eastern Kentucky University with a degree in broadcasting and was later granted an honorary Doctorate of Humanities. Mason is the 2012 Radio Show Steering Committee Chair and an active member of the NAB Radio Board of Directors.

Each year the National Radio Award honors an individual who is an outstanding leader in the radio industry. Previous National Radio Award recipients include Steve Newberry, Charles Warfield, Ed Christian, Bruce Reese, Jerry Lee, David Kennedy, John Dille, Lowry Mays, Jeff Smulyan, Bill Stakelin and Erica Farber.

Acceptable Use Policy
blog comments powered by Disqus

[an error occurred while processing this directive]

Today in Radio History

Milestones From Radio's Past

The history of radio broadcasting extends beyond the work of a few famous inventors.

Digital Edition

Each Issue as a Digital Edition

Read each issue online in our Digital Edition Format in your Web browser.

EAS Information More on EAS

NWS XML/Atom Feed for CAP Messages

The feed provides feeds for all US states and territories.

Wallpaper Calendar

Radio 2014 Calendar Wallpaper

Need a calendar for your computer desktop? Use one of ours.

The Wire

A virtual press conference

Information from manufacturers and associations about industry news, products, technology and business announcements.

Join Us Facebook Twitter YouTube LinkedIn
Radio magazine cover

Current Issue

National Public Radio

Building For The Future

Browse Back Issues

[an error occurred while processing this directive]